top of page
Comarch_300x600.png
Comarch_728x90.jpeg
TechNewsHub_Strip_v1.jpg

LATEST NEWS

  • Philip Osadebay - Tech Journalist

Tech and PC scams, stealing money from unsuspecting victims

People have been advised not to download software, especially if it comes from unofficial websites and links, as there is a risk of cyber attacks or even installing malware on their computer.



The FBI Public Notice warns that there have been recent cases in the United States of fraudsters posing as tech support staffs for software companies to trick unsuspecting computer users into giving up access to their bank accounts.


They contact victims via email or phone calls and tell them that their annual subscription service will be renewed within a few hours at a cost usually between $300 and $500 and that the victim should contact them if they want to cancel the payment.


According to the FBI, such scammers offer services found at large electronic retail chains that sell electronics, computers and other digital devices. False information may include claims that unsuspecting users Microsoft Office application is out of date or that their antivirus software subscription needs to be renewed.


How does it work?

Most fraudsters have absolutely no idea of what software their victim ordered, but by convincing the victim that they will lose a significant amount of money due to some random order, the goal is to trick them into contacting the wrong support system to cancel it by contacting a phone number, replying to an email or clicking on a link that claims to offer such assistance.


When the victim contacts the scammer and explains that they don't want the order and want a refund, the fake support person convinces the victim to download remote desktop logging software to gain full access to their computer to help the technician provides a means for cancellation and refund.


Apparently, installing such software gives the fraudster full access to the victim's computer, and the cyber attacker tells the victim that he will transfer the order amount back to his bank account, before the victim log into his online bank to verify. Unfortunately, if the victim log into his online bank to verify, the fraudster can see their username and password and gain access to the account.


When this happens, fraudsters lock the user out of their system or show them a blank screen to hide the next step, which is making a transfer to a foreign bank account on the victim's account. This is a common method that helps fraudsters launder the stolen money or steal the money directly from the victim.


Any information gotten from the victim's online bank account can also be used for further fraud. These scams use urgency to panic victims.

The FBI urges that anyone who sees an email claiming to be related to a subscription or service renewal, people should not feel pressured to act quickly, as scammers will try to take advantage of the lack of time.


They also stressed the fact that people shouldn't send wire transfers, especially to foreign banks, on the instructions of someone you've only spoken to online or on the phone — especially since real banks rarely ask you to send sensitive information via email. or enter it in the online form.

Comments


wasabi.png
Gamma_300x600.jpg
paypal.png
bottom of page